Private Library for Business-Only Content.

Angela Duckworth – Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

Grit_ The Power of Passion and Perseverance – Angela Duckworth (2016).epub
[ebook (EPUB)]

This product can only be requested by members. To get this product, you must be a member
BECOME A MEMBER

Description

Angela Duckworth – Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed—be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people—that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit.”

Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of “genius,” Duckworth, now a celebrated researcher and professor, describes her early eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not “genius” but a unique combination of passion and long-term perseverance.

In Grit, she takes readers into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she’s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers—from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll.

Among Grit’s most valuable insights:

*Why any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal
*How grit can be learned, regardless of I.Q. or circumstances
*How lifelong interest is triggered
*How much of optimal practice is suffering and how much ecstasy
*Which is better for your child—a warm embrace or high standards
*The magic of the Hard Thing Rule

Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that—not talent or luck—makes all the difference.

Reviews

A “Must-Read Business Book for 2016”
—Forbes

“Psychologists have spent decades searching for the secret of success, but Angela Duckworth is the one who found it. In this smart and lively book, she not only tells us what it is, but also how to get it.”
—Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness

“A contemporary classic—a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, Grit is an essential—and perhaps life-changing—read.”
—Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell Is Human

“Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.”
—Malcolm Gladwell, author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers

“Impressively fresh and original…Grit scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us.”
—Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

“Angela Duckworth [is] the psychologist who has made ‘grit’ the reigning buzzword in education-policy circles…Duckworth’s ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better…In this book, Duckworth, whose TED talk has been viewed more than eight million times, brings her lessons to the reading public.”
—Judith Shulevitz, The New York Times Book Review

“If you have recently bumped into that word, grit, Duckworth is the reason…In education and parenting circles, her research has provided a much needed antipode to hovering, by which children are systematically deprived of the opportunity to experience setbacks, much less overcome them…What sticks with you [in Grit] are the testimonials, collected from sources as disparate as Will Smith, William James, and Jeff Bezos’s mom, that relentlessly deflate the myth of the natural.”
—The Atlantic

“Grit is a useful guide for parents or teachers looking for confirmation that passion and persistence matter, and for inspiring models of how to cultivate these important qualities.”
—The Washington Post

“This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.”
—Dan Heath, co-author of Made to Stick, Switch, and Decisive

About the Author

Angela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. An expert in non-I.Q. competencies, she has advised the White House, the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. Prior to her career in research, she taught children math and science and was the founder of a summer school for low-income children that won the Better Government Award from the state of Massachusetts. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. More recently, she founded the Character Lab, a nonprofit whose mission is to advance the science and practice of character development in children. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance is her first book.

Print Length: 352 pages
Publisher: Scribner; First Edition edition (May 3, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1501111108
ISBN-13: 978-1501111105

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Grit-Passion-Perseverance-Angela-Duck…

Audio Book available here:

Enjoy! :-)

Note: Calibre is a great program for reading ebooks on your computer, as well as for converting between MOBI, EPUB, and AZW3 or from any of these formats to PDF.
Get Your Free Copy of Calibre, here: http://calibre-ebook.com/

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Angela Duckworth – Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance”
Quick Navigation
×
×

Cart

error: Alert: Content is protected !!